top of page

Meet Janina Grey

Updated: Aug 24, 2023

Christine, Maggie, Janina
L-R, High Priestesses Lady Phaezara (Chris) LadyHawk (Maggie) Lady Awen (Janina) circa 2006

Janina Grey is one of the closest friends I've ever had and a soul sister. (As is the other woman in this photo, Chris Rossi.) Janina is the third witch on the right in this shot. We were at a wedding together, found some dowels that looked like wands, and what's a witch to do? (We were not drinking. Witch's Honor.)

A little about my friend

Janina Grey has been writing since she could hold a crayon. A lifelong career in journalism paid the bills, but it was the sweet Harlequin romances she read in her downtime that inspired her to write her own contemporary romances now published with Soul Mate Publishing.

By day, Janina guides domestic and sexual assault survivors down their path of healing and empowerment. In the wee hours of the morning, she brings to life relatable characters as they embrace their own paths of healing and empowerment, and best of all, their happily-ever-afters.

When Janina is not writing, she may be marching for women’s rights, kayaking, camping, drumming and dancing around the fire, and manifesting her own magical greatest love story of all time with her husband, David.

With the kids grown, she and David share their 115-year-old Mohawk Valley farm house homestead with a few resident spirits and a very squawky murder of crows.

Janina's World of Romance

Maggie here. I asked Janina to tell us about her latest series, which is phenomenal and magical. The thing about books with magic in them is that they aren't very good unless written by someone who actually knows about magic, how it works, how to wield it, what the repercussions might be. The magic in this series is guaranteed authentic.

Tell us about your series, Janina!

Janina Grey
Janina Grey

Janina: Earth and Sky, the series I’ve just completed with the recent release of Book 3 Lost in Your Rhythm is set in the Adirondack Mountains of Upstate New York.

While my stories are considered contemporary romance, each tale has a bit of a magical twist. Many of the characters possess some kind of metaphysical gift or are practicing witches who live a seemingly ‘normal’ life. But then again, what’s normal these days?

Love in the Forest cover

In Book 1, Love in the Forest, Brooke Meadows has earned the nickname "Deathwalker" among her co-workers at Earth and Sky Retreats for her ability to connect with the dead. Client Josh Quinn’s deceased wife reaches out to Brooke for help with saving Josh’s life, and as a result, Brooke is able to finally embrace her own healing. Together, Brooke and Josh find LOVE IN THE FOREST.

Life is for Living cover

In Book 2, Life is for Living, Barefoot Dan, the happy-go-lucky barefoot confirmed bachelor from Book 1, gets to tell his story as he meets up with a one-night-stand who broke his heart four years prior. Fate brings Dan Cameron and Jayde MacMillan together again in a local coffee shop and the two soon learn that some one night stands are meant to last forever. A couple of precocious toddlers and their love of halfmoon cookies sweeten the story as the two lovers stop fighting what Fate has presented and just accept the fact that LIFE IS FOR LIVING. Without regret.

Lost in your Rhythm cover

Book 3, Lost in Your Rhythm: City born Broadway performer Jack Issa & small town cancer survivor Liza Minelli Purkypile cross paths in Demilune, NY. Taking the position at Earth and Sky as a photographer is the first step in her six-year hiatus from life after being diagnosed with cancer. Jack Issa was forced to exit the fast lane life he was living as lead THUMP! performer on Broadway when an accident nearly took his life. Losing his career, his wife, and everything he’d believed about who he was led him to the Adirondacks in search of peace and healing. What he finds is a reason to live as Liza & Jack get lost in the rhythm of love.

I want to thank Janina for letting me highlight her work here at the Coffee House Blog. These are amazing, uplifting stories that contain a magic all their own. The Earth and Sky series will weave its spell around and through you as you read, and leave you lighter, better, and happier than you were before you started. I hope you'll give it a try.

Check out Janina Grey's website, sign up for her newsletter, and/or follow her on social media by clicking the links below.

Recent Posts

See All



bottom of page